Purple

Justin, me, and Tim
Justin, me, and Tim

So this happened last night. Definitely a shock, especially as I’ve been so inconsistent with training the last few months for all the reasons. (I will be honest — I slept with that belt last night, just so I could wake up this morning and know immediately if it was a dream. … It was not a dream.)

I want to write more, and I will later, but for now there’s this: A belt to me isn’t the thing to strive for, because by itself it means nothing. But what a belt does mean to me is that your instructor has faith in you and believes that you can be trusted to wear that rank and to represent the school & him/her at that rank. And it’s that faith that I have worked to earn, and will now work to deserve even more.

7 thoughts on “Purple

  1. Congratulations! I just wanted to let you know that I actually said, out loud upon reading this “Finally”! Welcome to the purple club

  2. Im just a random reader of your Blog from the other side of the world. ย But id like to say congratulations on the purple belt. Every instructor says blue to purple is the hardest transition in bjj and you’ve done it. Now purple to brown is eaaasy. Haha keep working hard. ย Maybe start a YouTube channel or something. ย Anyway congrats again. And I hope to travel and train with you guys one day

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

Leave a comment