BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Hulk Noodle Smash

on July 26, 2016

Blake’s way with analogies (see “meatball grip”) met Justin’s love of clever phrases. Blake was explaining how to be heavy in side control, and likened it to making your body like a wet blanket, which morphed into being like a limp noodle — in contrast to being a steel beam — while still smashing their face away like the Hulk. So Justin turned that into Hulk Noodle Smash.

Promotions! Matt got his purple finally (we have a newly acquired purple belt, Todd, who had rolled with him earlier in the night and said, “Wait, how is this guy still a blue?!”), and Wayne got his blue. Double promotion, too, as they were rolling together when it happened, so there was definitely some cross-whipping.

Tim told me on Saturday that I need to stop “being so nice” with everyone. I’ve fallen back in that habit of letting everyone “work” on me, largely because we’ve had so many new ladies in the last few months and I’ve been working with them a lot. Then I forget to adjust my brain when I go with someone more experienced, and just let them do what they want to do. So that’s something to work on. (Though there have been some times where, for whatever reason, all I want to do is hunt submissions on everyone. But mostly, yeah, being too nice.)

I had realized for myself that I need to stop playing butterfly guard so much because I was just stalling out there. Also likely related to the “letting people work” mindset, as I can make people do a lot of work there without being terribly offensive myself. So I’ve decided to work on my guard game. I might also need to include a top game in that, though, as guard can also be a place where I just chill and make them work. 

Bunch of new people over the last month, including some women. Last Friday was about half new guys.

The weather has turned stupid hot and humid, so that walking outside feels like hitting a wall of warm water. Ew.

Leave a Reply

