BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Life being all crazypants

on March 2, 2016

Too much to do, too little time, yet feeling like nothing gets done. Sleep and Jiu-jitsu suffer the most. (Also sometimes meals, which my body does not appreciate and lets me know. But they also built a Panda Express almost right next to my house, so that happens frequently.)

In class, my rib is fine almost all the time now. It survived takedowns last Monday, so that’s a good sign, though got seriously perturbed during the guard passing this Monday, as several people drove pressure into it at funky angles.

Rolling, it’s weird, I’m not looking for specific things; I’m just looking for concepts, both offensively and defensively: block the elbow, frame here, pressure the chin, hook the knee. And it’s been having moments of brilliant successes, which is kinda fun. I have also discovered that one of the blue belts is a blast to roll with; he’s small and squirrelly, but is also willing to work and to be worked on when rolling, which makes things fun for both of us.

Edit: Speaking of crazypants: WordPress went and redesigned the backend. I’ve primarily been using it on my tablet, so didn’t really pay attention. I’m trying to approve comments and add links, but at the moment can’t find where those things are…

Leave a Reply

