BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Hello, world!

on January 11, 2015

I haven’t fallen off the face of the world or quit or anything. My schedule just has changed so that I don’t have enough sitting-down time to write anything. On the other hand, I haven’t been training much in the last month, either, between a product release at work, holidays, and that shoulder still nagging.

I did finally make it back in last night. And it was a “Oh, hai, welcome back from the lazy holidays. Do all the exercises!” Oh dears. Warmup had a lot of forwards and backwards rolls, which I have completely avoided since the concussion. (They were already slow and rough before that; now, just watching other people do them is almost enough to trigger dizziness in me. Meh.) Also a lot of exercises involving supporting body weight on your arms, which I also still avoid.

Drilling — de la Riva guard when they’re standing to an overhead sweep. Because the first thing you want to do after a long layoff eating cookies is a highly technical “I might drop you on your head” move. Or the first thing you want to have done to you. At least my body remembered more than I gave it credit for, and I managed to not drop my partner on her face. I’m sure she appreciated that, too.

Couple of rounds of rolling to finish off class. And that’s when I forgot everything I thought I’d retained about jiu-jitsu. Hrmph.

Next class picked up drilling that same setup, but now the person reacts differently so you sweep them another way. By now I was starting to get a bit dizzy each time I stood up, and the shoulder was protesting all this unusual activity. So after drilling, I left before rolling started.

My one New Year’s Resolution is to get my life/schedule organized again (because, ya know, if you’re gonna pick just one…). As part of that I intend to carve out more space for writing.


… … and it is clearly almost a week later. Step 1 – write blog post in a timely manner – check (had it done Tuesday morning). Step 2 – publish said blog post in a timely manner — …oops.

But while we’re here:

Saturday, Women’s Class

The heat had gone out in the academy overnight, so it was COLD in the morning. I kept my socks on while we warmed up 😮

Jen went over two chokes from guard, which turned in to wait, how do we even get to guard?, which went back to side control for bridging and shrimping review. So, okay, back to these chokes but now the other person is trying to break the guard so review that. All in all, it was a lot of information and a lot of drilling, but all very good.

Leave a Reply

