BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

on June 4, 2014

Put the gi on last night = instant overheating. Humidity, oi.

Short warmup, which was good. Then Justin split us in half, with half of us going to our backs at “stations.” Each station was a different guard pass, with a bonus “rest” station that involved jumping jacks, pushups, anything else you could think of to keep yourself moving. (“Rest” station, nothing!) Three minutes at each station, with one group rotating through all the stations first. Then switched so the rest of us went through.

I almost laughed when Justin assigned me first as the standing guard pass station, as I figured it was because I was the lightest (so no one would get too tired if they lifted my weight). Sure enough, when Justin got to my station, he told me that he’d put me there for that very reason. Lol. Then when we switched, he put the lightest guy there.

I was in the second group to drill, and by the final station my legs were staying back in front of their guard while my upper body attempted to pass. Legs so tired.

Open Mat. Everyone else looked pretty tired, too. But I jumped in for 2 back-to-back rounds with Andrew, which mostly consisted of me thinking, “Oh, that was a bad idea. So was that. And that. And that.”

There was one point when he pulled my lapel out and wrapped it back behind me; I couldn’t see what he was doing, so I just assumed (knowing Andrew) that he’d done something sneaky with it and that I shouldn’t make any sudden moves until I knew where that lapel had gone because I was likely tangled up & just didn’t know it yet. But when he let me spin out, turns out he had just messed with it to screw with my head and had not actually done anything with it.


I was sent a link to a new BJJ website called BJJ Collective. They crawl YouTube for BJJ videos, tag the videos with BJJ/grappling terms, and then create a searchable database. Seems like a cool idea — I know so many times I try to find something on YouTube and can’t figure out the search terms that the video used to describe itself.

One response to “

  1. Stephen Kim says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out! 😀 Please let me know if you have any suggestions for improvement. We’ll be changing a few things this weekend hopefully.

Leave a Reply

