BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Sunburnt and exhausted

on May 28, 2014

No class Monday because of Memorial Day. Saturday, Sunday, and Monday, my parents helped me do yardwork. This last winter with its extreme highs and extreme lows killed several of the large plants on my lot, so we had to dig those up and plant new ones. The back & tops of my shoulders were sunburnt yesterday; shrimping hurts!

Then last night, my brain decided that it didn’t want to sleep, thanks. I laid awake until sometime after 1am. Not even melatonin or reading or any of the usual tricks worked. Today has been all about propping my eyelids open.


New lady in class last night. She has trained some out in Colorado and is in town for the summer, so she decided to train with us while she’s here.

Short warmup, then drilling basic cut-knee pass. Then a counter sweep against it. Worked with the new lady.

Rolls. The new lady had never rolled live before (if I understood right, she goes to a Fundamentals Class only and they have so many people that they never roll), so Justin put her with me. Mostly put her in the situation we had just drilled and let her work it against resistance and escapes.

Couple other rounds that were not very brilliant, though I did finally manage to implement something Robert had told me a few weeks ago. I kept seeing it, but just couldn’t get brain & body to both commit at the same time. Last night, right at the buzzer they both managed.

Leave a Reply

