BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Headcase

on April 8, 2014

The emergency room doc said 2 weeks, and last night was 2 weeks. (I had considered going in the morning, but we have a big client at the office this week and so had to be in early for that.)

Huge class, which was actually a help because it meant the warmup had to be slower. There was no forwards/backwards rolling, which I would have skipped anyway. But otherwise I did everything except the sprawls on shoot-&-sprawl juuuust in case.

Class alternated between a few things: guard pass vs. submit (no sweeps? Why no sweeps? All I remember now is sweeps.), gi drags (I was dragged but did not drag), some quick drilling reps, and rounds. I sat out the rounds for sure; I think I sat out one of the specific sparring sets, too. Then when Tim announced the last round (lol, there was probably one more), I headed out.

Head/brain made it mostly fine for about 30 minutes, and then it started up with a touch of dizzy and a bit of nausea. That’s when I started sitting out and popping glucose tabs — and sticking my head out the door for some cool air & oxygen, lol. Came in a few more times as people needed partners for drills, but I mostly sat. I was paranoid about being kicked in the head, and kept scanning the space around for potential errant limbs and moving as needed. Some things, you just don’t want a repeat of…

In one of the last rounds, I noticed Tim hovering over a pair and grinning like a fool. Thought it was a little weird, but then again there were 3 groups really close together so maybe… Oh, nope, he reached inside his gi jacket then caught Andrew’s eye and nodded; Andrew transitioned and held down his partner so the guy’s back was exposed — and then Tim whipped Tyler with a shiny purple belt!

Leave a Reply

