BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Six Years and Counting

on April 3, 2014

…counting from the couch still, but still counting. Should be able to go back on Monday and at least do the warmup (but we all know how slippery that slope is…).

This last year has not been kind to my body in terms of injuries. And since I finally broke the guilt-feeling from not training all the times!!1, I’ve taken a lot more time off and trained a lot less. Now, that’s not to say that I like sitting around because of dumb injuries to mostly unimportant things such as brains, at the same time I’m not worrying over lost time or feeling badly about missing class. Jiu-jitsu, while a demanding mistress, is a fun hobby, one that I am serious about but no longer obsessed over and one that I want to enjoy for a long time. And I like it that way. Maybe it helps that I feel as if I’m not lost anymore on the mats and so can pick it back up & practice as desired, or at least as if I can figure out what I did incorrectly and work to fix it. But it doesn’t freak me out that I’m not BJJ-24-7. I also seem to be far less worried about achieving perfection in BJJ, which is also very freeing.

So, not stressing out that I’m not training at the moment, but still looking forward to getting back on the mats for another year of training.

7 responses to “Six Years and Counting

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m not quite there yet! All of ^this^ is what I TELL myself… but I’m still not as ‘eh, it’ll all work out’ as I wish I were. I struggle too much with being a perfectionist – I want to be better than I am, ant it isn’t happening. Particularly because I’m injured. Course, I’m NOT at the level that I can leave and come back and still ‘get it.’

    Thanks for the inspiring post. I’m trying to change my mindset!

    • leslie says:

      Oh, I know that feel — I was there for so, so, so long. And I still have to banish those thoughts sometimes. But, it does get better.

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you’re not able to train due to injuries. I know the feeling!

    About 6 years ago I injured my lower back while weight training. I had to stop all BJJ/Muay Thai and weight training. It took 2 years to get to the point where I could train again, though very gently at first.

    Eventually got back into it fully though I still have to be careful with certain movements. So really, everything turned out pretty well.

    That first year was brutal though! I had to bring an ass donut with me wherever I went; to work, to get a haircut, even on first dates, hahaha. It was awesomely horrible. But makes for a good story now.

    Keep your head up. It gets better and you’ll be back at it soon enough!

  3. Your Doom says:

    Happy jitsiversary!

  4. Congratulations for getting better — I had just started reading your blog when you got injured! Many thanks for what you write and the links you have collected. I am considering starting bjj at some point and you have inspired me a lot!

  5. Shark Girl says:

    I love this post. It shows balance. I feel I am in that space, too, because of injuries. I had to take lots of time off to recover. The options were to give up and never go back, or realize that if jiu jitsu was important to me then I’d have to do it for the long haul and that means playing my own game at my own speed and screw those twenty-somethings who can train every night for hours and recover from injuries in a day or two (sorry, twenty-somethings! I’m just jealous!).

    Rock on, BJJ GRRL, rock on!

    • leslie says:

      Exactly. I’ve come to realize that the mats will still there, and that many times it’s better to come in healthy & rested (because I can train more intensely and for longer) than to come in broken & tired (and have to quit early or not get to work on what I want to).

Leave a Reply

