BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

I like it, I like it!

on March 11, 2014

Ow. Hurts. At least the weather is warm; we had the doors open last night to let the breeze in.

One of our ladies was back last night after being off to have a baby. (She posted a picture the other day of the baby in a baby gi — so cute!)

The colleges are on Spring Break this week, so I thought it would be a small class. Nope — kinda on the huge side. Hrm.

Warmup. Scratch that, weather feels hot. *gasping*

First drill, a takedown. Andrew showed it, and my first thought was, “Ain’t. No. Way.” It looked complex as all get out. But then we started working it, and… it wasn’t bad. It actually made sense and worked for my brain/body. In fact, I think… I think I might like it. A takedown. Crazytown.

Then we drilled a half-guard sweep that Robert showed, and my first thought was, “Ain’t. No. Way.” It looked complex as all get out. But then we started working it, and… it wasn’t bad. It actually made sense. In fact, it was kind of stupid-easy, especially once you locked your legs on theirs and let them actually drag you over rather than trying to roll yourself and them.

Then rounds. With the returning lady first, then Tyler, Josh, Gwen, and Robert. I was doing things and stuff that were almost like competent jiu-jitsu. (This amazes me every single time: It’s almost like I know what I’m doing out here!) Robert had some more tips for me on that sweep of his and on a few other things, so I will try to remember to start working those in.

This morning, I have random huge bruises on parts of my body that I don’t recall being hit. They don’t hurt; they’re just big and ugly looking.

Leave a Reply

