BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

“Triple high-five!”

on February 19, 2014

Andrew was telling me this morning that one of the kids, who barely comes up to his waist, walked up to him after class last night and said “Triple high-five!” Andrew obligingly held out his hands at the kid’s level. The kid slapped both hands and headbutted him right where you might expect.


I actually woke up a few minutes before the alarm this morning. I think that’s my brain telling me that it’s willing to get up for class.

Short warmup. Then 1-minute rounds of positional sparring, escaping side control vs. holding it.

Drilling was north/south kimura, then transitioning to the armbar if they defend. Andrew had a tip for me to go ahead and stuck my shin on top of their ribs & spin there, rather than trying to keep it behind their back, because my shin is only about as long as a guy’s back is wide. Much better leverage that way.

Couple of rounds to finish up. Two rounds where I was fairly satisfied with how my brain/body worked (though there was the one point where my brain wanted to pass right but my body could only work out going left), first round with Andrew in which I suddenly forgot all things remotely resembling jiu-jitsu, and a second round with Andrew in which I remembered a few things (including getting that pass from earlier right).

Andrew mentioned after class that I’m more aggressive in rolling recently, so yay, it’s working.

Leave a Reply

