BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

“You’re a beast!”

on November 22, 2013

So say the white belts boys when their shenanigans don’t work effectively on you and then you do “magic things” that get you past their guard with seemingly no effort, and you’re not breathing hard at all while they’re puffing away.

Er, no, you’re just a spazz, I’ve seen it all a zillion times by now (seriously, head & arm choke me from inside your guard? Lame.), and that “magic” was just jiu-jitsu. Though possibly the best moment for me was when he was trying to smash through my half guard and I put my top arm across his throat & made a big show of propping it up there with the other, whose elbow was on the mat. Zero effort, and I just sat there with my frame while he tried to smash down & forward harder but only mashed his own throat into my arm more.

Rolling to warmup. Kelly, spazz, and Robert. Then drilling standing guard breaks, which morphed into Keenan’s guard break/pass, which Tim had just seen and was excited about.

Open Mat after. Rolled with Monster, which is all the amusings at once. Also, I totally thought at first that he was wearing the Star Trek rashguard, but alas he was not.

Leave a Reply

