BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Ugh, stupid shoulder

on August 23, 2013

My shoulder/neck is still hurting a LOT. I’ve even been taking ibuprofen. Lots of ice, too, as that seems to help more than heat. Also Tiger Balm, of course. But I thought I should be smart and sit out tonight. Ugh.

I feel like I’m taking more nights off than I am training this year… 😦

7 responses to “Ugh, stupid shoulder

  1. foxdancer says:

    What you descibe is eerily similar to a bad “rib out” injury I had about 2 years ago. It felt like my shoulder blade was broken- there was an ice-pick of pain right below it, radiating all up my neck and down that arm and a little down the spine as well. It did not go away, and I finally had to go have it looked at. I had a rib out, not in the front where it usually happens to me, but in the back a little below the shoulder blade. I don’t know how it happened (other than it happened in BJJ). You might want to investigate whether you have the same issue. It took weeks for it to start to resolve, even after we knew what it was.

    • leslie says:

      How did you finally figure out what it was? I’ve been going to the chiropractor (one of my training partners) for several years, all starting from this same shoulder. He thinks it’s an impingement.

  2. New Girl says:

    I had almost exactly that injury 2 years ago as well! It has taken 2 years to get my shoulder back to almost normal and I still have to take it easy on some things. I had pain radiating down my arm, through my shoulder, across my back and up into my neck, all from one little bone that wasn’t in the right place! The reason it has taken so long for it to get better is because it took months before I found out what was wrong with me and I was getting treatment for the wrong thing for most of that time, which was only aggravating the problem. Lots of physical therapy, with lots of targeted massage, strengthening and stretching, and lots of ice eventually did the trick for me.

    • leslie says:

      I should do more for this — the shoulder has been giving me issues for years now — but as soon as it starts to feel better, I forget about rehab/prehab and everything else. Until it hurts again…

  3. Ruben says:

    Two steps forward, one step back. It sucks to sit out, but sometimes it’s necessary. You can always do light warm ups and drill technique gently and just skip the rolling. 🙂

    • leslie says:

      With the pain as it was on Friday, the only option was only ice and ibuprofen; nothing else was possible. It still hurts today, though not nearly so badly. Maybe I can just tuck it into my belt tonight…

  4. My “rib out” created a knot of clenched muscle and scar tissue in that area that endures years later. Every time I get really tight, it starts hurting again. It is also vulnerable to reinjury.

Leave a Reply

