BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Friday night, May 31, 2013

on June 1, 2013

Ugh, I did not want to get up yesterday morning; despite having only trained twice (both on Wednesday), I was tired and sluggish. So, although I did get up on time, I didn’t go anywhere further than the couch with a cup of cold-brewed coffee.

The weather is lovely and hot (well, okay, really, just hot). Short warmup, then we did several solo rounds of knee-on-belly drills and triangle drills before partnering up and doing them on someone else. The triangle ones were ugly until Janet and I figured out that the turn at the top is absolutely crucial when you’re shooting up that high. Also, hamstrings and core were hurting by the end. Whew.

Rounds of rolling next. I again was able to turn the switch “on” going from Lauren to Janet, and then to keep it on for the rest. (Whoot!) By the last round, though, I was exhausted and getting stupid. Thankfully I was rolling with Tyler, and he admitted to being just as tired. So when I was defending back mount and moved his arm into place to choke me, he didn’t even notice. I was also managing to knock and clock him at every chance; couldn’t have whacked him more if I’d been trying. But then he said he didn’t even feel it most of the time. So yeah, we were quite a pair.

Leave a Reply

