BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

No carbs. No bueno.

on February 28, 2013

Bah, weight cutting. No starchy carbs for two days means no energy at class last night. Hamstrings and calves were cramping. Feet were stuck to the mat. Brain was having a slow “Huh?” response to everything. Brain fog has set in: I must fully focus on a single activity and think about it, else I’ll do things like put my dirty dishes under the sink or in the fridge or put the eggs in the pantry. (And to top it off, my weight is just sitting there all “You looking at me?” Except last night after class when I somehow gained four pounds since the morning. Does not compute.) Also, I am irritable as all get out and am trying to avoid talking to people, but people seem to be going out of their way to get in my face about something. Oi.

Rolling to warmup. Then rolling for class. Some timed drills in there (mount escapes, knee on belly drills, etc.), but mostly rolling. Wow, am I ever small and slow and weak. Not sure I know any jiu-jitsu, either. Cauliflower continues to annoy, but goes down by morning so there’s nothing to do about it. Also, the line of red dots down my neck that I thought was attributable to the chokes from Monday turns out to be caused by the chinstrap of my headgear pinching on my throat. Thanks, I needed that…

Skipped my lifting class this morning to sleep in. Pretty sure lifting heavy weights over my face is a bad idea when I can’t even muster the brain power to load the dishwasher properly. Also, I’ve been having trouble sleeping for the last week; I keep having bad dreams about jiu-jitsu, ugh. Not helping with the irritability et al.

Want sleep. Want carbs. Meh.

Leave a Reply

