BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Bruiser

on January 17, 2013

As in, one who bruises easily. Suddenly I have fingerprint bruises everywhere, and my ankle is black & blue. Also bent my big toe back last night (it was tingling!) and had the little toes on the other foot crushed. What is this, I got a “Kick Me” sign on my back? Pfft.

Rounds to warm up, then drilling a sort-of Tomoe Nage from de la Riva. (Also, I think I’ve figured why we’re incorporating so much judo & derivative techniques — the gi class at the Salem affiliate is now followed by an adult judo class [P.S., I’m jealous, as standup is the absolute weakest part of my game], so Justin is getting in on that after he teaches up there on Wednesdays, which is then reminding Tim of the judo he used to do back when he started BJJ [but only because there was rolling at the end, lol]. So, is a good thing.)

Couple more rolls to finish up. And… well. Eh. Brain and body aren’t on the same page. (Same problem during drilling — my brain knew what it wanted to do, but the body was doing something entirely different. Only in rolling, my brain didn’t know what it wanted to to, and so the body was off doing its own thing as well.)

One response to “Bruiser

  1. BJJ Grrl – I’m glad to see someone else post about fingerprint bruises! My wife regularly comments on how I come home (especially after no-gi night, which is once per week) looking like I spent the entire night with people poking my arms and ribs with sticks. Thanks for a great blog – I enjoy reading your work!

Leave a Reply

