BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Wilting

on January 10, 2013

Sore from Monday! Man. Mostly in my middle to upper back, but also my legs. (At least some of the guys look miserable, too, by the end of these classes, so I don’t feel like a total wimp.)

Started with rolling, then to positional sparring again for the rest of class. Dang, I got worn out on both sides of the deal! One was interesting — from top, first person is perpendicular, has one arm threaded for the armbar, and was trying to finish; from bottom, second person trying to escape the impending armbar. So basically, escaping from worst scenario.

Stuck around to roll with Buddy during Open Mat. Fun stuff. At one point, we’d moved around the mat over to where Tim was sitting. Buddy noticed him and so tried to drag/push me away so we didn’t run in to him, while still keeping pressure on my lower ribs. Tim said, “No, you’re fine.” I twisted my head around to see him and wheezed, “No, I’m not! He’s on my ribs!” Worse than even losing cardio after two weeks off is losing the ability to handle so much weight on my lower ribs.

Leave a Reply

