BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Playing in Traffic

on December 6, 2012

So, after the tournament, I felt like I’d been run over by a truck. (More accurately, run over, then the truck had backed up and run over me again.) But for some reason, I packed all my stuff and went to class anyway on Monday. Seriously, I dunno what was wrong with me. As soon as I stepped on the mat, though, I realized that was not the best plan, especially when it turned out to be not an easy Fundamentals class. But I stuck with it through sheer stubbornness.

Intermediate/Advanced class was just rolling. I considered sitting out entirely, but Tim let me trade off rolls with another guy who needed to take breaks, and I stuck with guys who wouldn’t just crush me, so it worked out well. And by the end of class, the stiff muscles in my upper back had loosened up somewhat.

However, I woke up Tuesday morning hurting everywhere all over again. I’d planned to go to my lifting class that morning, but that wasn’t happening… I tried again today, but my body said it was going back to bed. So I’m finally doing as my body wants and just resting the rest of this week.

Leave a Reply

