BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Lagging

on September 24, 2012

Gah, the weather skipped right in to winter! Frost on the ground this morning. So hard to get out of the soft, warm bed. *le sigh*

Primary lift: incline bench. 20lbs x 6, 25lbs x 6, 25lbs x 6. I think I can lift more weight, but my right arm was being all weird and weak and couldn’t get anything heavier in position to lift it.

Circuit: Max rounds in 20min: 6 1/3 rounds:

  • 10 box jumps (20″, 10″, 20″, 10″, 20″, 10″, 20″)
  • 15 push press (20lbs x 1, 15lbs x 4, 12lbs x 1)
  • 20 db swings (20lbs x 5, 15lbs x 1)

My right leg was not fully cooperating on the box jumps and seemed to be lagging behind. So I switched up the box height to give the leg a little break. Then on the push press, my right arm was really being weird; it doesn’t hurt, but it’s weak and could hardly lower the weight. Getting it up wasn’t a problem; getting it down was, though. So the weights I used had to drop off as that arm fatigued more.

Auxiliary: 3-min isometric pushup hold. I could feel my elbows and shoulders all pointing in different directions, but there didn’t seem to be anything I could do to get them back in line.

Leave a Reply

