BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Squats!

on September 17, 2012

My left thumb wasn’t working last Wednesday morning, so I missed the second workout of the week. Then I left early Thursday morning and drove across the state to Williamsburg to stay with my best friend Jennie and her new baby. Most adorable thing ever. I so did not want to leave on Saturday.


Waking up this morning was rather disorienting, especially at 5:30am. But at least I’d had the foresight to lay out everything I’d need for this morning before I left for my trip.

Warmup: pushups, 3×10. I had to do 2 sets on my knuckles, to keep both the wrist and the thumb safe. But then the right thumb starting protesting that position. Urgh.

Primary: Back squats, 4×8. 45lbs (bar), 65lbs, 85lbs, 95lbs. Supposed to do all at the same weight, but I didn’t know what my max for squats was since it’s been forever since I did them, so I worked in with another lady and just did what she did.

Circuit: 3 rounds for time: 20:20:

  • 50 bw squats
  • 15 lunges (both legs = 1)
  • 25 situps
  • 25 db swings (15lbs)

Wah! Air squats after back squats?! Torture!

Because of my thumb(s) and wrist(s), I went with a lighter weight on the swings than I really wanted to. But the thumb had been protesting even gripping the bar on the back squats, so I figured I shouldn’t press my luck.

Auxiliary:

  • RDL 1×20 with bar
  • plank for max hold: 2:29
Leave a Reply

