BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Another week down

on August 24, 2012

Oi, these morning workouts are brutal. I’m sore forever afterwards. Today, it’s all concentrated in my left arm.

My knee is, at the moment, protesting its early morning treatment, as are the rest of my joints. Gonna take them a while to get used to bearing load again.

I can’t even remember Monday at this point, except I remember being happy with some of the rolls I got. (Lol, I do remember one point where Andrew was working for an armbar and suddenly picked me up by the not-locked armbar & moved me far away from the pair that was about to crash down on us.) Wednesday I didn’t make it to class, as I had to deal with things elsewhere that sprang up. Today, I had some moments where I felt like I moved well, where it was almost jiu-jitsu going on out there. I even hit a gogoplata on someone, of all things, though he wasn’t working too hard to get out. (Really I was going for a triangle or an armbar but my leg got tangled with his arm, and then it was there and I thought, “Well, why not?” He said he was worried that the only way out that he knew might wind up hurting me, which is a nice thought that doesn’t seem to come along often enough.)

I’m trying to remember to tell people when they’re giving something away for free, especially if they do it often in a single roll. Although, interestingly, I had no armbar escapes tonight, so no one to pass that on to.

Leave a Reply

