BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Jalopy

on July 9, 2012

Today’s temperature was around 86 degrees and humid. It was overcast, so it looked like it might be cool. I took a walk at lunch but had to turn around because it was just miserable out there. After lunch, though, for some reason the heat came on in our office! It’s usually freezing in there — I have been known to wear a sweater during the summer (or even put a sweater on over another sweater in the winter) — but suddenly I started getting warm and feeling as if I was out in that stuff again. Ugh. Thankfully the HVAC company has an office actually in our building, so they were able to fix the problem quickly.


I feel like a jalopy crawling down the road, black smoke streaming from the hood, sputtering coming from the engine, random parts falling off, a bumper hanging halfway off and dragging. My knee was uncooperative with everything tonight, my neck is stiff, there’s a knot just under one shoulder blade — and then during Open Mat, I twisted the knee again and then later somehow strained the hip on that same side so badly that I can hardly bend it now. Also, sometime tonight I got a giant bruise on the top of one foot.

Also, why is it that when people say, “Let’s go light,” what they really mean is, “You go light, and I’ll go hard”?

BJJ Fundamentals

Warmup. Knee did not like. Then drilled side control escape back to guard for the rest of class.

BJJ

Rolling to warmup. I drew Giant White Belt then Steve, and then was the odd one out.

Drilling was an Ezekiel from top half guard. Drilled for the rest of class.

Open Mat

Tim called out that we all needed at least 3 five-minute rounds before we could leave. Buddy first and we both played around. Then Guillaume, and it was here that I injured my knee while trying some spinning rolly twisty thing to take his back while he was rolling and spinning away. Then I tried to finish the round with one leg, and that’s still no fun. I sucked it up for one more round, though, and somewhere in there strained the same-side hip (hip flexor, maybe?) something terrible. No idea how. Too bad no one makes full-body ice packs yet…

3 responses to “Jalopy

  1. Jenna says:

    I like the idea of a whole body ice pack! Maybe also with the ability to heat as well and massage!…..

  2. shakiaharris says:

    do you train w/ a knee brace? I actually sleep in my sometimes because I’m such a wild sleeper. Hope it all gets better

    • leslie says:

      I do. It stops most things and reminds me to pay attention to that knee, but it doesn’t stop *all* rotational movement. The brace may be slightly too big for me; my knee may not be “adult sized,” lol. In this particular instance, I was trying to take the guy’s back, and all of his weight shifted on to just that knee while turning away. Don’t think there’s a brace that can stop all of that, lol.

      I have been training some nights with TWO braces on the same knee. The first is just a pull-on sleeve, and then I put this brace over it. The second brace starts to pinch the skin behind my knee after a while, so I need the first one to protect from that. The two together is a really, really solid contraption. I’d forgotten the bottom brace on this night, though.

Leave a Reply

