BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Torn MCL

on April 3, 2012

Is the current diagnosis. It’s what I figured anyway. Went to the doctor this morning. Prescription is to RIICE it for 2 more weeks and then, if it’s still in as much pain, go back for an MRI and/or physical therapy.

I’m a little tired of having to take so much time off for injuries recently. I’d rather take time off because I want to, not because I have to.

On the positive side, that should give my left wrist, elbow, and shoulder more time to rest. They’ve been having fits the last few days, too, and the wrist insisted on its brace again today.

Dear Body, please start working right again. Love, Me.

7 responses to “Torn MCL

  1. Laura says:

    Oh yuck, I was worried about your MCL being torn after the description you gave. Was it a full tear or just some of the fibers?

    Mine was partially torn 6 months ago and it is mostly okay now, except for the noise. It sounds like a bowl of rice krispies has taken up residence in my knee. Snap, crackle and pop. 😉

    Hope you have a full and speedy recovery!

    • leslie says:

      Heh, I was worried about my MCL as soon as it happened!

      Don’t know for sure yet, though she think it’s only partial. She wants me to continue resting for ~2 weeks and see how it’s doing, and then we’ll look at an MRI.

      What was your recovery time? Physical therapy? How long until back to full training?

      I still have some of the physical therapy stuff from the LCL sprain on my other leg 2 years ago, and the doctor said it was fine to start doing some of that now (single-leg balancing, that sort of thing) so long as it doesn’t hurt.

  2. Laura says:

    I didn’t have an MRI, access isn’t so easy. I rested (complete rest) for about a week before I had my first physio appointment. During the first week I had troubles walking. Then I saw physio twice more over the next 3 weeks.

    At the end she allowed me to return to BJJ but only drilling. No rolling (or anything else where I wasn’t in full control of my appendages) until my knee didn’t get hot and sore.

    So, about 4 weeks of rest then another two of just drilling then slowly back into BJJ.

    I may have also torn my meniscus at the time of the MCL tear, and I think that’s what still causing me problems. Well, that and not being gungho about getting back into the weight training for my legs. So, honestly 6 months later my knee still kinda hurts. But I am back to lifting now, so we’ll see.

  3. shakiaharris says:

    poop. Sorry to hear that leslie, hope you heal as quickly as possible.

  4. trainingbjj says:

    That sucks! I hope you heal quickly. Were you in on Monday night? Cause I thought I saw you sitting with Tim, but I can’t see much of anything without my glasses. Anyway, get plenty of rest!

    • leslie says:

      Yeah, I stopped for a few minutes at the beginning of class to check in. Unfortunately, I can’t even drill at the moment, and I would have no patience just sitting & watching class.

  5. trainingbjj says:

    I understand that. I wouldn’t be able to sit and watch class either.

Leave a Reply

