BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

What I’ve been reading, February 2012

on March 1, 2012

My library has been promising Kindle books for checkout for a while now (they’ve had Nook books for a while), and they finally got them. Through their website, I can get a book on my Kindle for 14 or 21 days. Sadly, they don’t have very much available right now (in any format, actually); and it’s not the whole library worth, but rather just some books. Still, it’s yet another way to get free books, and some that I wouldn’t have access to otherwise on my Kindle.

  • Thuvia, Maid of Mars, Edgar Rice Burroughs. Next up in the Barsoomian series (John Carter).
  • The Death of Joan of Arc, Michael Scott. Short story, an accompaniment to the series “The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel.”
  • Foundation: Book One of the Collegium Chronicles and Intrigues: Book Two of the Collegium Chronicles, Mercedes Lackey. A Valdemar trilogy, set at the time the Collegium was being built.
  • Blink, Malcolm Gladwell. Very, very interesting. About how experts can make an accurate assessment in a 2-second glance/taste/listen. The stories and statistics are quite interesting. For instance, did you know that the doctors who get sued the most for malpractice are not necessarily the ones who make the most mistakes? And the stuff on the Millennium Challenge war games, the orchestra auditions, and police chases — whoa.
  • Sleeping Beauty, Mercedes Lackey. Another in the Five Hundred Kingdoms, this time with the Tradition trying to force a retelling of Wagner’s Ring Cycle.

I have visited the local Goodwill bookstore and several times walked out with large bags full of books. These bookshelves used to be a lot more spread out; now I have books stacked horizontally and even double-deep in one place. Looks like I’m gonna need some more bookshelves soon…

3 responses to “What I’ve been reading, February 2012

  1. Georgette says:

    I loved Blink too! And your bookshelves are very attractive. I need to get Kindle loaners, I have spent FAR too much money on books that way. How does a loan work in Kindle? 🙂

    • leslie says:

      Mine I get through my library, so I go to their website and sign in with my library card number. If they have a book I want, there’s either a link to download it from Amazon or a download to my desktop. The loan actually expires, too, so you have to read the book before the deadline.

      I know you can loan actual books to other Kindle users through the Kindle; I’ve never used that feature before, though.

Leave a Reply

