BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Changes of Plans

on February 21, 2012

I intended to compete at US Grappling’s Richmond tournament this weekend, but my body has other plans. Sunday night, I got violently sick and spent the night sleeping on the bathroom floor just to be close to the toilet. (Yeah, TMI, I know.) Yesterday I spent the entire day in bed and eventually could keep down some Pedialyte and ginger ale. Today I still slept a lot, but could also sit up on the couch for a few hours at a time; I also graduated to chicken noodle soup and Coke. Hopefully tomorrow I can start working from home a little.

The only bright spot in all this is that I did finally make the weight I’d been aiming for last week — although it’s not a method that I’ll ever want to try again.

Anyway, so I’m taking all this week off from BJJ, instead of next week as I’d planned. (Maybe next week, too; we’ll see how it’s going.)

7 responses to “Changes of Plans

  1. SavageKitsune says:

    Thank you for being responsible and not sharing your germs with your classmates! Hope you feel better soon.

    • leslie says:

      It had nothing to do with responsibility, actually, and more to do with not being able to get out of bed and having no energy to do anything once I did.

      Oh, well, I’d planned to take some time off anyway. My body is just demanding it sooner rather than later.

  2. trainingbjj says:

    That sucks that you’re sick! Hope you feel better soon.

  3. TomD says:

    Get well soon!!

  4. Rebekah says:

    I hope you feel better soon!

    Also, I just wanted to say thank you for writing and being so willing to share what you learn online. Your blog is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

