BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Good to be back

on February 10, 2012

My business trip was originally going to be for 3 days — up Monday afternoon, back Wednesday afternoon — with two morning meetings for separate clients. Then the second client cancelled the meeting as I was driving up, so I was down to Monday – Tuesday. But the first client decided they wanted to get the project going immediately, and so wanted a second meeting on Wednesday, so I ended up back at the original plan. Thankfully I had packed for the full trip.

I did take my gym bag, packed with a gi and everything. And when the trip was re-extended, I really did plan on going somewhere to train. All the best intentions. But when I got back to the hotel on Tuesday night to change, I instead face-planted on the bed for an hour, and by then it was too late to go anywhere (and I was still exhausted). My schedule was totally messed up, and I didn’t eat as regularly as usual. Gotta try to work that sort of thing out so that I’m ready to go in the evenings…

…because I have to go back up next week, too, and again when this project is finished. Though next week I have to go with someone else from down here, and so won’t be able to drive myself around.

And then at the end of next week, there’s a Sub-Only tournament in Greensboro, NC (which I have recently learned is a shorter distance away than Richmond), that I’m heading down for. And the weekend after that is a points tournament in Richmond. So I’ve got a terrible training schedule and then two tournaments back-to-back. We’ll see how this goes…


Waking up this morning wasn’t as bad as it has been, only because everything up in Fairfax gets started early so I didn’t sleep in while I was there.

Three of us. Short warmup, then round-robin rolling, twice through. Drilling was some advice for half-guard passing, as both of us were having issues against Andrew’s half-guard (but then again, most everyone does). Then another round and a half of round-robin rolling to finish up.

Apparently my hips were being all flat and lazy, and my generally annoying hooks were fairly inactive.


Funny-in-hindsight, almost-panic-moment last night: my brother lined a loaf pan with parchment paper, poured in one of his protein powder concoctions, and popped it in the oven. He does this all the time. But this time, he had a little too much vertical parchment paper, and it contacted the top heating element and the parchment paper caught on fire.

Thankfully we were both standing there and saw it, so we pulled it out. He blew out the fire, I moved the oven rack lower. He said he thought that parchment paper was non-flammable. *facepalm* His normal routine is to not pay attention, to throw stuff in the oven, and to go straight to take a shower while it cooks, so it’s a very good thing that we were both still standing there, especially as he’ll be in the house alone again next week.

3 responses to “Good to be back

  1. bjjjudo says:

    It can be hard to get good training in wehn you’re on the road. I try to find a BJJ or Judo clu near by to train in but sometimes it just isn’t feasible. When that happens I try to get at least some kind of workout in at the hotel I am staying in. If they dont hvae any workout equipment I force myself to go for a run.

    I think the trick is to be realistic and recognize when you won’t have an opportunity to get good training in while on a business trip. When that happens settle for a “so so” workout doing whatever you can do rather then letting yourself use it as an excuse to not workout at all.

    • leslie says:

      Yeah, and I’ve definitely got to work on keeping at least a similar eating schedule while I’m traveling so that I have energy when it’s time to go train. There are plenty of academies up there near DC; I just didn’t have the energy to get out and go.

      I thought about using the hotel gym and glanced in the gym. They had a couple of treadmills & ellipticals and a measly set of dumbbells, and only a couple square feet behind the equipment for doing anything in. Meh.

  2. Yep, sounds like the typical hotel gym. 50/50 chance the treadmill was broken…

Leave a Reply

