BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Team training

on February 4, 2012

Today marked the 1-year anniversary of the Salem school, so a crew from up here met at our school and went down there to train. Lots o’ people on that mat.

Warmup. We had to condense to 2 lines to do the down-the-mat drills because there were so many people. Their mats are longer than ours, so I think I got more tired on the warmup because I ended up doing more than usual. 🙂

Then reviewed the guard pass drill that Tim had us do a few weeks ago (in which, oddly enough, I also drilled with a new wrestler. Only this time, I realized it.). Drilled with Spencer, a new guy at the Salem school.

Then drilled another open guard pass, this one an inside slide pass. Eventually added going for any submission we wanted from the end. Drilled with Janet, and again, wow, so nice to have the same size partner. (Although, the vast difference between her and the guys makes me feel as if I’m working with 90-lb Theresa again. Maybe that’s my problem with guessing other girls’ size — I’m so used to bigger guys that someone my own size feels incredibly tiny. [Really. I’m afraid I’m going to break Janet. And that would be very bad, not only because she’s a good training partner but also because she’s Justin’s girlfriend. You don’t break the black belt’s girlfriend if you value your own limbs. 😮 ] And so a girl who feels “normal sized” to me is larger than I am but smaller than the guys.)

3-minute rounds of rolling. We were initially supposed to have one person rotate and the other stay put, but they also wanted us to train with people from the other academy, so the rotation thing didn’t last very long. Rolled with Janet, then Allen (spelling? Darn homonyms. Anyway, much bigger dude, but probably very new.), and Mike. Then rolled with Frankie (who cut his long hair and so I didn’t recognize him until halfway through class), Guillaume, Ez, and Spencer in some order. I honestly can’t remember. (I did the thing where I stayed in the same spot for all rounds, so everything kind of runs together.) So only one round with one of my regular training partners, which is what I was going for.

Anyway, whoever was first, at the end of the first round in that second group, Mike (who I had just rolled with the previous round, and in which he did a sneaky little modification to a head-and-arm triangle that I had well-defended to finish it anyway — and had me asking, “What did you do?!”) got his blue belt.

Then Tim put us through a finisher. Alligators, 20 pushups, alligators, 20 pushups; single legs, 20 pushups, single legs, 20 pushups; squat jumps, 20 pushups, squat jumps, 20 pushups; arm drags (army crawls), 20 pushups, arm drags, 20 pushups. (Pretty sure that was all. Sure felt like a lot more, though.) My shoulders were burning shortly, with all those pushups. And after the arm drags, the mat was completely covered in sweat, as all of us had pulled our sopping bodies down the length of it.

Rolling notes: Alright, so the intent to finish the submissions is there. I’m transitioning between good positions and submission attempts without issue, and I’m finishing things when they’re available; I am moving around and trying things, and am actively looking to escape when I’m on defense. But I’m not pushing the pace or even moving much, and I’m not tired after rounds. I realize that sounds like a good thing, almost like efficiency or economy of movement, but I feel as if I’m not working as much as I need to. I feel as if I’m being lazy. I need to get that fire lit again…

Leave a Reply

