BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Progress Report: January 2012

on February 1, 2012

(Geez, what’s with all the posts from me today?!)

January was blah. I had a week and a half off for the holidays, and I’ve had a hard time getting back in to the swing of things. Hard at work and home, too. Waking up early for class has been iffy.

Overall, I haven’t been able to get my intensity back up where it was a few months ago. I fell frequently in to “playing around” with people instead of actually working to pass and stuff (ya know, to play my own jiu-jitsu). And I found out that the guys have even still been going easy, as there have been several days when they all seemed to agree to not go easy. Also, injuries have been nagging and pretty much constant; as soon as one part stops hurting, another jumps in. Pfffft.

And yet, I finally feel I’m to the point where I can say, “Okay, I’m going to work this,” and I have a fairly high likelihood of making it happen, or at least of making a real attempt at it. I’ve been able to work in some things that I’ve seen, too.

One more positive this month (well, maybe it’s just a holdover from so much couch-sitting in December) is that I’m not stressing out about missing classes, even classes that I would normally attend. I’m finding myself interested in doing things that are not jiu-jitsu, though I still think/read/watch it frequently, too. And I’m finding out that letting my body rest sometimes when it asks to is not the end of the world. So here’s to a balanced 2012!

2 responses to “Progress Report: January 2012

  1. Georgette says:

    I’ve been feeling somewhat like that. I can’t claim to be training hard or frequently injured…. but the being interested in non-jiu jitsu stuff and not getting my intensity back up stuff….

    • leslie says:

      I think part of it for me was getting my own house — I find that I actually want to spend time doing things for the house (e.g., grocery shopping [which leads to an increased interest & time spent in cooking — and eating]) and that I want to spend more time there (e.g., cleaning, decorating, sitting around doing nothing lol).

Leave a Reply

