BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Monday morning with giants

on January 30, 2012

Class this morning was me, Andrew, and New Big Mike. (I’ll call him twice my size, though he might even be bigger than that. My feet just touched when pulling guard on him. Not quite as big as the 280-lb college football player, though. So, Andrew is 1.5x me, and New Big Mike is at least 2x. Size differences FTW.)

Short warmup, jogging & stuff, then shooting triangles. Drilling was hook sweep to mount, then 2 cross-collar variations from mount. New Big Mike was giddy over the simple effectiveness of the cross-collar choke. Drilled for the whole class.

4 responses to “Monday morning with giants

  1. trainingbjj says:

    Never thought about kicking out the opposite leg on the hook sweep. I do that all the time with the scissor sweep and love it! Interesting detail.

    • leslie says:

      Lol, hi, Tyler. I clicked the link through and did a “Holy cats, someone at my school has a blog, too!”

      Yep, same idea as from the scissor sweep– collapse the side you’re sweeping towards.

  2. trainingbjj says:

    Ha ha ha, yeah. Since I go to Tuesday and Thursday class usually and you don’t, I don’t have a write up available so that I can remember what we went over. So, I thought I would start up my own BJJ blog/journal, cause I found myself forgetting things.

    • leslie says:

      Good idea. And I always find it helps me remember if I write things out in my own words anyway.

      I’ll be there on Tuesdays from now on, since Wednesdays has gone to MMA. Probably still Thursdays off, though.

Leave a Reply

