BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Monday night, January 23, 2012

on January 23, 2012

The weather cleared up by the end of the day. It was actually nice enough that you didn’t need a winter coat. Almost sunny, too.

Fundamentals Class, gi

Short around-the-mat warmup stuff. Then Andrew sent us all over to grab the UFC ground-‘n’-pound bags to do the side control to knee-on-belly to switch to side control drill again for 2 rounds.

Drilling is centering around mount right now. Drilling was pendulum sweep, same as this morning. Then a choke for if they try to base away to prevent the sweep, then back to the sweep, then the choke again.

BJJ

Just rounds of rolling. 3 minutes, 1 minute rest. One person from each pair rotating. Seven rounds total. Aubrey, Andrew, Rob, Janet, Buddy, Robert, and Eamon.

I’m falling a little into playing people’s games again; need to watch that. Also notice that I’m actually working more standing guard passes. Huh. It’s because of “Defeating the Bigger, Stronger Opponent”; I’ve been working with this pass in mind quite a bit:

Mine’s not that pretty, though. Biggest problem, especially against blue+ belts, is that they turn hard to half guard when I step in, and their top knee drives my knee down, and then I’m snared in their half guard.

9 responses to “Monday night, January 23, 2012

  1. Class was good last night and that choke really sucked (meaning it was painful). I’ve also been working more on standing passes. When I started I actually didn’t think you could stand-up. Ha ha ha.

    That pass from “Defeating the Bigger, Stronger Opponent” is cool. Kind of reminds me of the movement of the Toreada Pass that Andre Galvao often uses (http://youtu.be/i8Xi3JxEXd8). Little different, but a lot of the same movements. I’ve been working on the Toreada pass and I’m having some success with it.

    • leslie says:

      Lol, yes, you can stand (though if your partner stands, too, you should sit back down and not fight from the feet. Too many people.). I stand frequently because then I’m closer in height to my partner. 😉 The funny thing is that though I stand a lot, I don’t often actually pass standing, instead using the stand to transition my partner to another guard (e.g., from their full guard to their half guard). But now I’m staying up and working on fully passing.

      Interesting version of that pass. I don’t think I’ve seen it done quite like that. I’ve mostly seen this version, from Draculino: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r6Y6CZiijhE.

  2. Kintanon says:

    If they turn and trap you in half guard, and you KNOW they are going to do it, then you should just try to slide your knee past their thigh as they move to halfguard and snag the farside underhook. Use the underhook to brace yourself and use your free leg to push their bottom knee and pop your trapped leg the rest of the way free. Now, is very important here so listen closely, DO NOT STOP. Keep the under hook and run around their head all three stooges style and plant your shin in their ribs with your other leg over their face and the arm still hooked. Now. ARMBAR!

  3. MC says:

    A girlfriend and I am in agreement that this pass would not work unless you were way faster than your opponent. The bigger stronger person is usually slower than a small person, let’s be real! Look at all the options from the straddle-legs position (minute 3:40). Mr. Kesting could put Ms. Kwok in the sitting guard, the half guard, spider guard, omoplata, throw her over his shoulder, butterfly sweep, lift her with his legs and just let her hang there for 30 seconds, . . . Once she moves to actually pass, there seems to be a lot of time for him to hip out go for the de la Riva or x-guard, or even a double leg takedown if he’s tall. Please post if you get this to work on anyone with more than a year’s experience.

    • Kintanon says:

      I use it all the time on blue belts when combined with the pass I describe above. The pressure downward that Emily is putting on Kesting’s hips is what helps prevent all of those things.
      Obviously if you let your opponent establish their grips you’re going to have trouble, but once you develop a fluid “step in, Step around, kick out” movement then you don’t have as many issues with this.
      The important thing to remember is that at higher levels, even high blue belt, no single pass is going to work for you in isolation reliably. You MUST establish and use combinations.

    • leslie says:

      I’m not very fast, preferring a slower controlling game, but I have hit this pass several times on blues and purples. The look on their face when you suddenly teleport to knee-on-belly is priceless. (It’s the ones I’ve hit it on several times who are getting wise to it and starting to cut their hips sharply as soon as I step in.)

      This can’t be a slow pass (which I think is most of the problem I’ve been having when it doesn’t work) — you can’t mosey on in to their guard, double-check your grips, and wait for it… wait for it… KICK! Watch Emily doing it at full-speed later — she steps in only long enough for her second foot to come up solidly, and then kicks around.

  4. MC says:

    I can definitely see that combining this with a knee over and underhook can work, but that means you are finishing with a very different pass. I’ve also noticed some of the faster guys in my club do something similar but it still doesn’t look like a go-to little guy v. bigger stronger guy move to me at all. Both of you must be faster that me. Sounds like it’s worth working on, but would take quite a while for me to time correctly. 90% of the people I roll with are faster than Mr. Kesting is at the end of the video, so I wouldn’t call that a full speed pass demo.

  5. Kintanon says:

    I’m considered both slow and lazy…. If something requires me to work hard, or move quickly, I’m likely to find a different way to do it.

Leave a Reply

