BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Rolling with Harlequin

on January 7, 2012

Buddy stepped out on the mat today in his purple Scramble rashguard and multicolor Scramble tights. The entire mat dissolved in to giggles. Then we made him hide and jump out at Tim when he came in. And we got even more giggles as more guys showed up and we got to see their reactions.

But then no one wanted to be the first to roll with the Harlequin, so they paired off and left him to me. Some good long rounds today. Then rolled with Ratcliffe, Andrew, and Big Jon. (*ponder* Was that really all the guys I rolled with? Even halfway through, it felt like I’d gone through a Shark Tank-full of guys. I was working hard.)

Realized early in those rolls that the guys have been going easy on me these last few months. I felt like I was going at the same pace & intensity as I have for the last several months — and even in some cases, purposely pushing myself to go harder — and they were throwing me around and ripping off my limbs & head like it was nothing. The Discouragement Monkey jumped on my back then and pointed out that this means that all the things I’ve been squeeing over as Progress recently (and against these same guys, too) have been nothing more than the boys playing nice. The standard that I thought was *here*, just out of reach, turns out to actually be entirely over there, with a handy chasm gaping between. *sigh* There’s a lot of work ahead of me.

In good news, the MMA class won’t start up on Wednesday nights until the kids get back from winter break. So I’ll have another week or two of gi on Wednesdays before I have to find something else to do.

Leave a Reply

