BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Last roll before Christmas

on December 22, 2011

I realized on Monday night that I hadn’t thought through this week well. I was going to have to miss Wednesday night to drive up to Richmond to pick up my grandparents, who are staying the week with my parents. And I couldn’t make up class on Tuesday night because I had a hair appointment. So, although we got back in town rather late today, I went to class tonight anyway.

Rolling to warmup, with Kaila, Justin, and Andrew.

Drilling was north/south kimura to head-scissor and then to far-side kimura. Drilled with Ray. Then when Open Mat was announced, rolled with Ray and then Guillaume.

Last official class of the year. The academy is scheduled to re-open on January 3rd. There may be some unofficial practices next week, but I think I might keep myself out anyway and get everything rested up. We’ll see how long I last. 😉 I’m on vacation from work this whole next week, too, since I had some time that wasn’t going to carry over, so I had to go ahead and use it. Not that I mind too much at all!

4 responses to “Last roll before Christmas

  1. Kintanon says:

    I love that combo, and if you find that you can’t rotate far enough to finish with the kimura you can roll face up and slide your bottom knee up and put your shin in their ribs for the armbar finish as well.

    • leslie says:

      I’m having a little trouble envisioning that — “roll face up”…? Am I rolling them with me?

      Justin did also briefly show a continuing series of transitions to submissions from that point, saying that it was all just little adjustments as you chased the changing angle of their arm.

    • Kintanon says:

      Generally if you are doing the head scissor thing they are on their back already. If the head scissor is failing and you can’t rotate their arm towards their back far enough to finish with the kimura, then all you have to do is break the headscissor and drive your bottom knee towards your bottom elbow, then roll face up. They are alread face up. That should put you in a perfect armbar position.

  2. Abigail says:

    I thought I was going to have to miss more than a week while I was gone from Kansas City and in the middle of Kentucky. However, my instructor said he new some guys that rolled at a school near the town where my husband and I stay so I got to go hang with them on Thursday morning. The website said ‘bjj drill’ but it ended up being mostly MMA stuff, which I’ve never participated in! Did a bunch of punching drills and stuff. Definitely reaffirmed my love of being on the ground. I just find the punching and kicking stuff a bit boring.

Leave a Reply

