BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Just what I needed

on December 7, 2011

Long, slow, ugh day. Overcaffeinated and oversugared. My rib/bruise/thingy was giving me extra grief today. Cold and rainy, too. I considered not going to class tonight, though never in a very serious way. I knew I wouldn’t have a great night, but there really wasn’t enough to keep me from going.

(I want some video game therapy, though, so this is gonna be quick 😉 )

Fundamentals Class, BJJ

Rolling to warmup. With Buddy. Yeah, this might not have been the best plan. I could already tell that I was completely and totally and 100% off.

Then drilling from half-guard. Worked with Aubrey.

BJJ

Tim divided us up into three groups at first. Aubrey and I were one group. One group of three, another group of two. The group of three went round robin, while the pairs just rolled. Eventually he moved the other pair over and made one big group of five for round robin, while Aubrey and I still rolled together. We ended up rolling the entire class, so 45 minutes straight. I was just going nice and easy. At first I was a little annoyed that I didn’t get to play with the boys, but then I remembered how I’d felt coming in to class (and how I still felt, if I’d think about it) and that my ribs were still bothering me. So what I ended up doing was exactly what I needed to do tonight. I got nice and loose by the end of class and didn’t have to worry about exacerbating an injury. In the end, best thing for me, and I left happy.

Until I got outside and realized it was snowing…

3 responses to “Just what I needed

  1. Allie says:

    Rib injuries are such a freaking pain. I have been lucky enough only to have one really bad one early on when I started training. I feel for you. Hope you feel better!

  2. Rolling round robin really wore me out, but it felt good. Glad you were able to relax and get some rolling in without aggravating anything. Like Allie said, hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

