BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

O Christmas Tree

on November 30, 2011


I have a Christmas tree!

The angel kept bending the top, though, and threatening to fall off, so she is watching safely from the media console.

November Homework

Pre-class food & drink:

  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • protein shake

Class notes:

  • Fairly intense class (lots of rolling), but I did not get the usual limp rag effect. (I also had an avocado for lunch and sweet potatoes with breakfast. Though I forgot my banana. Again. [Forgot this morning, too.]) So, tired by the end of class, but in a good “I did a lot of work” way rather than the “I am currently dying” way.

Fundamentals Class (BJJ) and BJJ

Short warmup, then in to drilling a climbing armbar. Drilled with Aubrey.

Then to rolling. With Aubrey, Brandon, Bobby, … er, everyone else in some order: Aubrey again, Tyler, Andrew, Buddy, Guillaume, Tim, Buddy again. I think we rolled for ~45 minutes total with 1-min breaks. (The battery in the clock is slow, so they’ve taken it down, so I have no idea how long things go now.) First time I’d rolled with Tyler, though he’s been lurking around my blog for a while. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hurray for non-spazzy training partners. It’s far more fun when you find someone you can mutually play jiu-jitsu with rather than having to worry that they’ll break your neck with their shenanigans.

Nice and tired by the end. And my shoulder did well, too. It had some goofiness in the warmup (it does not get along well with pushups), and I had to shake it out a few times while drilling (though it didn’t lock up, thank goodness), but that all seemed to resolve itself by the time rolling started.

Aubrey rolled the whole time, too, and seemed to enjoy it. Well, except for Bobby taking her back and choking her a lot. She was not terribly amused by that. Well, I did warn her to protect her neck before that roll… Bobby is the Neck Assassin.

Pictures of random stuff

The label on my farm-fresh eggs that had me giggling all last week:

The sign at the local BBQ place:

(It’s a little blurry, but you can definitely see the quotation marks. … Why?)

Sign on the vending machine at work:

The next day, the sign was down, and the requested drink (along with the sign) had been placed on the front desk in that office.

I looked out of my window one morning and saw this powered paraglider:

This plane was one of 3 vintage airplanes that were supposed to do a flyover for one of the home football games, but the weather turned bad by Saturday. (The others weren’t there yet when I took the picture.)

6 responses to “O Christmas Tree

  1. Tom D says:

    You put up your decorations really early. Really really early. We don’t put up ours until at least two weekends before Christmas. Nice tree though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m off to see if i can get freshly squeezed eggs, maybe goose eggs because it December at last.

    • leslie says:

      I refuse to allow anything remotely related to Christmas until after Thanksgiving, at the end of November. After that, however, I will actively encourage Christmas. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. slideyfoot says:

    I love christmas, so I always have to restrain myself from putting up decorations and cranking up the christmas music. Managed to last until 30th Nov this year. That also just reminded me: it’s 1st Dec, so I can have a chocolate from the calendar! Yay! ๐Ÿ˜€

    That means we’ve got our tree up too, which emerged from the depth’s of my gf’s grandparents house. The whole thing lights up and changes colour, which is kinda cool. However, it also makes some worrying high-pitched whining noises after a while, which kinda sounds like it’s about to explode. Pros and cons, I guess. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Ha ha ha, yes, I have been lurking. You have so many great resources on your blog and since I can only come to class twice a week it’s great to see what’s going on. Anyway, thanks for rolling with me! You have an extremely active and hard guard to pass, which makes it fun.

    • leslie says:

      When your legs are this short, you gotta make up for it by having them be everywhere at once. And you have a good base and long limbs, which was thwarting me from getting inside and sweeping you like I wanted ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

