BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Sensitive

on November 23, 2011

My skin has apparently gone all soft on me after just one week off. I’ve got torn up knees, gi burn all over my chin and neck, and bruises on my arms. Sadness. Also, pain.

By the way, does anyone know of any jiu-jitsu around Muskegon, Michigan? Aubrey is going home for winter break next month, and she’d like to find somewhere to train. My Google-fu is failing me. I can find a few references, but no real websites with any information. ‘Tis annoying.


November Homework

Pre-class food:

  • 1.5 bananas (would have been 2, but the second was half rotten)
  • protein shake

Class notes:

  • Better than the last couple of classes. (I also ate a much larger lunch, calorie-wise, than usual. May have figured in. Bratwurst FTW!) But also, short warmup, lots of drilling, and only three rolls.

Fundamentals Class

Aubrey came again. Andrew ran us through a quick warmup and then moved in to drilling. The Heisman, he called it. Something he hit on me repeatedly this morning but did not mention then.

Jimmy came in later, and later we also added a reversal, if they happen to counter the Heisman by pressuring in to you beyond your ability to push/pull.

BJJ

Continued with drilling, since it was only the four of us. Now a counter for the guy on top, if the guy on bottom is halfheartedly throwing that move or if they hang out in No Man’s Land (i.e., middle half guard).

Bobby popped in right near the end of class.

Then rolled with Aubrey for a little bit, and tried to get her in the few positions she knows. But she was enthusiastically grabbing my lapels and trying to steer me around with those, so I moved on to sweeping, mounting, and at times armbarring her straight pushing arms. (And then explaining why that was a bad idea on her part.)

Then rolled with Bobby and then Jimmy.

No class tomorrow or Friday for the Thanksgiving holiday. But we do have regular Open Mat on Saturday. Wohoo!

NaNoWriMo Update

Word count: 36,746 / 50,000

I caught up for yesterday today at work. We were given a free pass to go home around 3, but I figured I’d stay and write. Less likely to get distracted. So, still one day behind, but things are starting to move along plot-wise. I think I know where we’re heading; I’m just not sure how long it will take to get there…

Leave a Reply

