BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

on November 8, 2011

Er, I think someone said something about taking Tuesdays off… *whistling* Oh, right, that might have been me but I figured since I was taking mornings off this week and Thursday & Friday then I should train tonight because… er… because… well, because I’m not too bright sometimes. (Most times.)

November Homework

Pre-class food & drink:

  • Avocado
  • 10oz water
  • I forgot to pack my protein shake (out of the habit), and my banana was rotten clean through, though it had looked fine from the outside.

Class notes:

  • Felt heavy and tired all class. My brain started going during drilling: couldn’t even remember what side I had just done a rep on. Felt so slow during rolling.
  • But, I talked to a couple other guys, and they also thought the room was uncomfortably warm tonight (there had been an earlier, er, discussion between our group and the other about the thermostat, and I think they cranked it up after that), and they were also exhausted even during drilling. So, tonight, so far, appears to be an anomaly.

BJJ

Warmup. Foot still twitching on shots.

(Tim brought his kids tonight, and they were play jiu-jitsu around on one corner of the mat during the warmup. At one point his daughter got a triangle on her big brother, and Tim said, “Work that triangle! You’re gonna need to know it when you’re older!” The gym dissolved into laughter.)

Then drilling the Plan B again from last night. Then a half guard sweep. Rolling towards the end. Bobby and Ed.

Open Mat

Rolled with Ed. Very glad I got a lot of work tonight with small squirmy people. They find space where I didn’t realize I had any!


NaNoWriMo

Word Count: 13,928 / 50,000

That’s from last night, but is still ahead of today’s goal. I tried to write during Monday Night Football, and that just didn’t work. My characters ended up mired down in an awful scene where nothing happened; thankfully one of them finally figured out how to get out.

Leave a Reply

