BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

What I’ve been reading, September 2011

on October 1, 2011
  • Son of a Witch, Gregory Maguire. The sequel to Wicked, which I read last month. Not as good, though still interesting to see what happens in Oz afterwards.
  • Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte. I now have a new least favorite book of all time, finally something to pass Jane Eyre as the worst book to bear the name “literature.” Ugh, brain bleach, please! The book is terrible. I only stuck with it because my brother claims it’s his favorite book and insisted that I read it. Well, now I could write my own book on how absolutely atrocious this book is. There are no sympathetic characters, no good writing, no good reason for anything anyone does. And all the fainting! And the weeping! And the raging! And the getting ill for 3 weeks after being mad at someone. Bah. Nothing — nothing! — to recommend it. And it took me almost 2 weeks to struggle through this book because I dreaded having to read about these narrow-minded, squabbling, insensitive jerkfaces. (And that is a kind assessment of them.)
  • Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen. Needed something to cleanse my brain of the previous. I’ve read it before. This time it didn’t seem quite as wonderful: more drawn out, and a lot more weeping and fainting than I remember. And the ending was a lot more abrupt, too. Meh. Maybe I’ll just go watch Hugh Grant, Alan Rickman, and Emma Thompsen — that version, at least, I know is wonderful.
10 responses to “What I’ve been reading, September 2011

  1. Aparna says:

    Awww sad! I actually liked Jane Eyre, and I’m usually not one for all that long-ass drawn-out Charles Dickens type writing. However, what I really wanted to ask was if you ever actually read A Game of Thrones, or if you just mentioned it once.

    • leslie says:

      Most people seem to like Jane Eyre. I just never have. The part that I really dislike is the ending when, after everything that’s happened, she just goes back to him anyway. Urgh! Spineless!

      I haven’t read GoT yet. Got to finish WoT first, for one. (I have the rest of the series in a box. Just got to get to it.) And that would probably also involve hitting up the library, too.

  2. Aparna says:

    Also, I read Wicked and Son of a Witch long ago…I couldn’t get them from the library for whatever reason (or maybe it was before I had a public library card for where I was going to college), so I would sit in the bookstore for hours on Friday afternoons and read. I liked them, but definitely thought the first was better. And there’s a third book, A Lion Among Men, which I haven’t read.

    • Kintanon says:

      Wheel of Time.
      One of the more epic fantasy series ever written.

      I for one can’t recommend the Game of Thrones series. The writing is good, but the plots tend to just make you ANGRY because every time you start to like a character they take a sword to the face or something.

    • leslie says:

      That sounds most unfortunate…

  3. Aparna says:

    Agree with Kintanon…actually at first (like in the first few chapters), I thought everything was just too obvious. Then the plot lines start weaving, and yeah–people die. Now, however, I’ve come to expect the unexpected. If someone is supposed to die (i.e. the chapter ends and you think they should have died but he doesn’t explicitly say so), they haven’t. If there’s a fight and someone is winning, they die. If things are going really well for one person, they die. So now I worry about the people for whom everything is going right, because now I know they’re going to die.

  4. slideyfoot says:

    Pretty much anything with Emma Thompson is good. Awesome actress. Alan Rickman rocks too. Randomly, my gf knew someone who knew someone who often had actors staying round: the story was that Rickman flew from the US to the UK for one night, purely to be there for a friend of his who was nervous about their first time going on stage.

    I’ve somehow managed to avoid the majority of Romantic fiction, aside from the Austen I studied at school. Much prefer Romantic poetry. Also has the advantage that even if you don’t like it, at least it’s short (unless you’re Elizabeth Barrett Browning). 🙂

    If you want a good antidote from the same period to characters being pathetic and fainting all the time, try George Eliot. She tends to be a bit tougher, from what I remember of Middlemarch

Leave a Reply

