BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Ribfest

on September 12, 2011

Ugh, whatever it was that made me queasy, it dogged me all day. I drank Coke like it was water. That did at least settle everything down by classtime (but now I’ve had way too much sugar and caffeine, which is its own problem. *le sigh*).

I was doing math today and I realized that a guy who weighs 60lbs more than me is 150% of my weight. That’s 1.5 of me. (Conversely, I’m only 66% of his weight.) That’s not even considering strength. Oh, fine; I’m small.

Fundamentals Class, BJJ

Only 4 of us, no newbies, so Tim had us roll. With Chase first. Then 5/side armbars from guard. Then a roll with Andrew, followed by 5/side armbars from mount. Then one more roll, with Big Mike. (Somebody taught him butterfly guard this summer, so he was flying me around everywhere.)

BJJ

Class was all blue+ but one (and that was TR, so hardly counts against the total). Fred Thomsen was down visiting; he started under Tim and now is up at Crazy 88 in Maryland.

Class was all rolling. With TR, Will, and Robert. No repeats of the choking issues from this morning, but everyone — and from earlier — seemed to like putting an awful lot of pressure on my ribs.

4 responses to “Ribfest

  1. Aparna says:

    “I was doing math today and I realized that a guy who weighs 60lbs more than me is 150% of my weight. That’s 1.5 of me.”

    I can’t even try playing that game; it gets depressing REAL fast.

  2. Allie says:

    I try to avoid doing math at all costs, but that is really interesting to hear it put that way!

    • leslie says:

      I promptly forgot all that and then got frustrated in class when guys were just flinging me off or were crushing my poor little riblets.

Leave a Reply

