BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Extra chokeable

on September 12, 2011

Morning class. Short warmup (jogging and such). One round of rolling, with Arkeif.

Then worked basic triangle, mostly for the new guy.

Andrew was demonstrating on me, but holding the choke while he pointed out details, and suddenly I was nearly passing out/throwing up, so I tapped with both hands, rapid-fire, and bolted for the bathroom just in case. Thankfully neither of those things actually happened, and I rejoined the class a few minutes later.

Drilled with Arkeif, which was hilarious because my leg from knee to foot is shorter than him from neck to shoulder. So I had to really, really concentrate on getting the angles and everything correct to make everything meet as it ought to; even then, lots of difficulties. (Of course, if I were really rolling with someone whose shoulders are this wide, I’d probably switch the the armbar. Did try that a few times.) Felt bad, though, that even the slightest hint of the actual choke had me tapping.

Then one more triangle, off a bump sweep. Again drilled with Arkeif. Trying to support his weight in that transition without tweaking my back. (I think he weighs twice as much as I do. And he used to be bigger!)

One more roll, with Andrew. He complained that I wouldn’t go to all-fours/turtle, lol. I was diving back to side control or even giving up my back rather than stay there, the few times I did unconsciously roll there.

Leave a Reply

