BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

One nogi session this week

on September 9, 2011

Draculino seminar tomorrow!

Fundamentals Class, nogi

Very short warmup, then to drilling. Continuing what they were doing last night: from clinch to snapdown to guillotine grip to takedown. Then from that takedown to the sit-through guillotine. Then to taking the back and sliding in a really tight RNC, Matt Hughes style.

Drilled those for the rest of class.

Open Mat

I was the odd one out, so sat for a bit. Then Guillaume was free, so rolled with him. At one point, I realized that I couldn’t actually stop him from rolling forward out of the reverse armbar I was going for (despite the knee in the face and the leg along the spine + foot in hip), but I could pinch my knees together and keep contact with that arm even as it rotated every which way. And I did, while he rolled forwards, then backwards, then forwards again before I could find an opening to come in to side control. And later went from an almost-triangle to some weird place as he tried some escape or another, and then snapped it back to a tight and deep triangle. And a guillotine that I didn’t immediately give up on when it was a little loose, but rather adjusted, no, still not quite, adjusted, almost…, adjusted, and there. Of course, what I really had in the front of my mind was the Teleport Pass, but it was as if he knew I wanted that and wouldn’t oblige (though I just now realized how I could have snuck it in there. Oh well.)

Draculino’s here in the morning!


Also, last night my stylist didn’t cut my hair; instead, she wanted to cover the highlights and the roots, so she did an all-over color. First, what it looks like normally (actually, it looks even darker than this — almost purpley, it’s so dark red). Second, what it looks like under a lot of light. I lurve.

2 responses to “One nogi session this week

  1. shakiaharris says:

    i’m confused, which is your hair now?

    • leslie says:

      Lol, both! When it’s straight under a bright light, it looks like the bottom one (that picture was taken with a flash); that’s actually the color she showed me before she put it in.

      The top one is what everyone see normally.

      I have color-changing hair 😉

Leave a Reply

