BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

What I’ve been reading, June 2011

on July 1, 2011

Many fewer books because of the whole moving thing. Everything is probably a Kindle version from now on, unless otherwise stated.

  • Star Born, Andre Norton.
  • Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen.
  • My Man Jeeves, P. G. Wodehouse
  • Total Money Makeover, Dave Ramsey. Hard copy. I should have read it before buying a house. Oh well.
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum. Had never read it before. (P.S. Did you know that Dorothy’s shoes are not really ruby slippers?! *le gasp*)
  • Large bout of romance novels, some actually well written.
  • The Affectionate Adversary, Catherine Palmer. Historical Christian fiction somehow. Didn’t realize that, but it was alright.
  • The Strange Case of Finley Jayne, Kady Cross. Steampunk. I like it!
2 responses to “What I’ve been reading, June 2011

  1. slideyfoot says:

    I seem to remember a homicidal rampage by the Tin Man through a whole town of midgets. Or something like that. I could be misremembering though: if I’m not, definitely wasn’t expecting that when I finally got round to reading it. 😉

    I was also pleasantly surprised by how enjoyable Pride and Preggers was when I finally read that a year or two ago, given that I absolutely hated Mansfield Park at school (Fanny Price really got on my nerves). Probably helped by the fact my gf loves the classic 1995 BBC adaptation (and definitely not the ridiculous film from more recently, where they’re living in the middle of pigs and chickens).

    • leslie says:

      No, no Munchkin rampage by the Tin Man. (He saved them & became their king instead.) Though there was a lot more death and mayhem. And two good witches. Also, it’s not a dream.

      There are a lot more books that follow, and they’re obviously already downloaded. 😉

      Ooo, yes, the Colin Firth version… *le sigh*

Leave a Reply

