BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Conversation with a guy in a bar

on June 25, 2011

Conversation with a guy in a bar last night, after Karate College. He has trained for about 6 months and then stopped for some reason, I think he said, but is trying to start up again. I’m sitting a table with Renzo, Paul Creighton, Tim, Bob Gracie, and about 5 of my teammates.

Him: “So how do you know all these guys?”
Me: “I train with them.”
Him: “Oh, yeah? Been training a few months?”
Me: “Three years.”
Him: “Oh. Um, so you train the, um, the striking stuff?” (Air punches for effect.)
Me: “No, jiu-jitsu.”
Him: “Oh. Well. Um. Do you — well, you just roll with other girls, right?”
Me: “No, I train with the guys. When I started, there weren’t any other girls.”
Him: “Oh. So, um. But there are girls now?”
Me: “Yes, we have a few, but I still train mostly with the guys.”
Him: “Oh… It’s hard training with a girl. You don’t want to go too hard and be that guy who just crushes the girl. But then you’ve got to be careful because if you go too easy, then she’ll grab something and think she’s going to choke you, and then you’re thinking, ‘Oh, crap, she’s really choking me! I can’t let her get this!’ So you have to get out without hurting her.”
My guys: *blank stares*
Him: Some fumbling reply about Gina Carano and Cris Cyborg training with guys.
Me: smile and nod

12 responses to “Conversation with a guy in a bar

  1. clinzy says:

    Sigh. I hope he doesn’t come back to “train” with you. Or, maybe I hope he does.

  2. MC says:

    You were way more gracious than I would have been.

  3. Jody says:

    Ha! That’s dead-on and pitch-perfect. How many times have we heard some variation of that one! But I couldn’t really get past “I’m sitting at a table with Renzo…”!

  4. Aparna says:

    So did anyone else hear any of what this guy said?

    • leslie says:

      Not sure. The bar was loud. Some of my training partners seemed to catch parts of his longest speech and gave him looks that seemed to say, “Oh, yeah, you’re an idiot.”

  5. Marilyn says:

    some people are just dense!

  6. Lori Latimer says:

    I can relate. I once had a guy who had not been training nearly as long as I have tell me that “judo is a rough sport on you ladies” and that I should “stick with it.” I politely pointed out that it’s a rough sport on everyone, not just us tiny, fragile ladies.

  7. shakiaharris says:

    what a jerk off…uggh we just got one of those in the gym and i smash his face every chance i get…he’s god awful..as a person and training partner

  8. Shark Girl says:

    Okay, this made me lol! : )

  9. […] Conversations with a guy in a bar was posted by BJJGrrl on the 25th of June.  On the 26th of June I found myself in a similiar situation.  I was having dinner with my non-jits friends and of course I’m talking about jits.  This new guy (he’s a really nice kid, he just doesn’t know how jits is) in the group looked at me and screwed his face up into a WTH expression.  Total confusion and disbelief on his face.  Then he asked in what appeared to be disgust, “Why would you do that?”  My dear friend interjected and explained things to him in a very nice politically correct way.  This happens ALL of the time and anoys the wiz out of me.  I’m always polite, because they just don’t know.  I will always answer in a polite politically correct way.  So, I don’t want to actually tell somebody this but these things do run through my head.  So, here and now, I gotta let the sarcastic smartass out!  I want to express the crazy thoughts that run through my head everytime someone asks me that question! […]

Leave a Reply

