BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Saturday, June 18, 2011

on June 18, 2011

Oo, the storm clouds are rolling in now! Glad I went ahead and did my outdoorsy stuff already. I planted 5 containers — 2 tomatoes (one’s a Topsy-Turvy thingy. …eh. We’ll see. Not living up to its billing so far. Not so easy to set up), 2 peppers (1 red, 1 orange), and 1 basil plant. I would have planted more herbs, but nothing else at Lowe’s looked so good. I’ll see how the containers do this year; if not so well, I’ve got a whole side of the house that could take a vegetable bed (and blueberry and blackberry bushes!).

Small group this morning. One new teenager, so Tim decided to have an actual (in)formal class for him on breaking and passing the guard, and then we all drilled. Worked with Jess. Most of the morning was spent with that. Then the kid got to roll with Buddy, and the rest of us started rolling, too. Jess couldn’t stay long, though, so after the kid left, I rolled some more with Buddy.

2 responses to “Saturday, June 18, 2011

  1. Allie says:

    Veggie garden! Fun! I tried it a couple of times and as yet have not succeeded to keep the plants alive long enough to get more than a few samples of each vegetable. Both times it was beetles or other bugs that killed my plants. 😦 I want to try again, though. Good luck!! 🙂

  2. mikebyrd says:

    more berries!

Leave a Reply

