BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Moving out, moving in, moving on

on June 13, 2011

Moved everything in Friday night and all day Saturday. Saturday night, my first act was to take a cold shower (it was hot that day!) and then a nap. Yesterday after church, my grandparents brought lunch over; after they left, another nap. So most things are still in boxes, though I’m trying to get it all out and put up where it goes. (Also, it seems I have a lot more crap than I thought I did. Sheesh!)

There is a train that runs through town. It’s probably a mile or so from my house. And apparently there is a crossing somewhere down there, which requires that the train blow its whistle. Saturday night and last night, I kept being woken up by the whistle. I’m sure I’ll get used to it, but for now it’s rather annoying and is cutting in to my precious sleep.

Things are already starting to break. Argh! The blinds that the folks left in the windows are really cheap and don’t work well at all; two of them are already stuck halfway up, including the one nearest my bed, so the street light shines right in. And then yesterday, something happened with the air conditioning, so I’ve got to call to get that looked at.


Class this morning. Two rolls to warm up, with Robert and with Jess. The second roll was a bit longer as Tim was walking around and giving specific suggestions to folks. Then drilled the same standing guard break and pass from Friday, eventually adding taking the back and finishing the bow-and-arrow choke there. Drilled with Jess and Brandon.

And then at home I ran around looking in boxes and trying to find everything. Oh well, I’ll get it sorted…

3 responses to “Moving out, moving in, moving on

  1. Kintanon says:

    Yeah, welcome to the wonderful world of home ownership! It’s worth it though….

  2. MC says:

    Hi. Congratulations on the house!
    I lived close to a railroad crossing for a while, and I found the train whistle a comforting sound. But I’m also the sort of person who can sleep through noises like a cuckoo clock. As for the blinds, if you’re like me, you might stick a scrap piece of cloth over your window with double sided tape. If you’re like my mother, you’d sew new curtains in hardly more time. And if you’re normal, you’ll probably buy some nice blinds from a store and install them with matching hardware. Regardless, enjoy the giddy days of your home ownership honeymoon.

Leave a Reply

