BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Progress Report, April & May, 2011

on June 1, 2011

I forgot to write one at the end of April. It’s okay, though, as nothing has changed in two months. Seems almost pointless to say so, but there it is. For every tiny inch forward I gain, it feels as if I get pushed miles back. The harder I work, the worse it gets. The more I try things that people suggest, the less success with anything. Still too slow, too weak, too injured. And too stubborn.

I was going to say more (house-buying interrupted)… but then Zen Mojo published a post that addresses all my evaluation, er, whining. And nailed one part of the problem I’ve had with doing anything before: “Helpful hint: do your evaluation only against your peers or those a little ahead of you – evaluation against those way ahead of you creates a list way too big to manage.” Okay, okay, okay… Can’t right now, because I have to remember how to do this work thing for the next few days, but I’ll work on it (around cleaning and painting and moving in).

5 responses to “Progress Report, April & May, 2011

  1. nick says:

    I would (politely) argue that the only mile stick you should use for BJJ progress is yourself. It’s easy to compare yourself to others and say things like “I’m better then them.” or “I’m not better then them.” it’s a lot harder to track your own progress, but over all I think it’s the better approach. Both Saulo Ribeiro and my own coach drill that into us. Each day you train you get a little better. Just my humble opinion.

  2. Kintanon says:

    I second that. My only real evaluations are done vs “me from six months ago”. If I can whip that guys ass, then I’m happy.

  3. leslie says:

    Lol, Nick, you can argue impolitely, too; I don’t mind. 😉 I know I can be wrong.

    What I pulled from Zen Mojo’s post is that comparing myself to those way ahead of me — the purples, the blacks — is pointless: of course they’re better, that’s why they’re higher ranked. (But that’s what I do.) Then when asked “What do you want to work on?”, the only possible answer is “Everything!”

    But how do you measure against your own self? It’s not like I can challenge my 6-months-ago self to a roll.

    (And then, of course, I had a good night. *le sigh*)

  4. Zen Mojo says:

    Leslie,

    Glad you found the post helpful and yes you got one of the points I was trying to make – working on “everything” is not practical.

    To reply to Nick (politely), I use “evaluation against your peers” not in the sense of “comparison/worthiness” but in the sense of what are they using against you that is working/frustrating – as a guide to giving you a manageable list of some of the “holes” in your game or things you might want to prioritize working on. It is just like the difference between just “working out” and “training” for something specific.

    That said, I’m fine with just flowing with the “jiu jitsu lifestyle” and simply showing up for class and having fun.

  5. BJJJudo says:

    You might try asking someone else to evaluate you and your progress every 6 months or so. You could make this a formal meeting with your coach or you could make it a less formal meeting with one of the higher ranks. An outside opinion from a higher rank that has been rolling with you from the get go my provide insights that you wouldnt normally see when evaluating yourself. I stress “less formal” over “informal” because you wont get what you are looking for from a 30 sec chat at the water cooler.

Leave a Reply

