BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Drilling, drilling, and more drilling

on May 17, 2011

Soundtrack: “The Way You Look Tonight”, Frank Sinatra, for most of class, and then “Mambo Italiano”, Rosemary Clooney, for the rolling at the end.

Argh! I wrote the whole thing, and then WordPress ate it. *pout*

Drilling to start class. Swinging armbars from guard. Then a round of easy rolling, no submissions.

Drilling again, hitchhiker escape from armbar from mount (without actually doing the armbar first). Then added doing the armbar from mount for reals. Then added a counter to the hitchhiker for the top person.

Each new drill was added on top of the other, so by the end we were drilling armbar from mount, hitchhiker, and roll all in sequence. I like that; it gives context and starts creating that mental pathway.

Then two rounds of rolling. With Purple Belt Buddy and Justin. Supposed to be flow rolls, Tim said, but I haven’t done those in so long that my brain and body were rusty and had trouble loosening up. Purple Belt Buddy graduated from college last weekend and is leaving us on Wednesday. I has a sad.

2 responses to “Drilling, drilling, and more drilling

  1. Georgette says:

    Isn’t it funny how music affects our rolling? I think I roll best with reggae (if it’s warm weather, and if we turn off the lights and just go with natural light)… and if it’s cold weather, or at night with the lights on, I like trance….

    • leslie says:

      I’ve been on a Rat Pack kick lately, so those songs are getting stuck in my head. Some are okay for class, but then I’ll get something like “I Only Have Eyes For You” or “Mack the Knife” going, and it just doesn’t quite work 😛

Leave a Reply

