BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Nice and easy

on May 14, 2011

I didn’t go to Open Mat last night, if they even had it. The cage is still down, so there may not have been any space.

VT graduation is today. I guess that’s why everyone was out — only 4 of us were on the mats today. Robert worked with Chase, so I rolled with the other guy, a newish guy named Mike, for 10-15 minutes. The soundtrack in my head was alternately Frank Sinatra singing “Nice and Easy” and garbled passages from The Art of Learning, particularly from the chapter “Making Sandals.” Mission accomplished, too: composure kept, escalation not reached, breathing even. *high five* Although, I did have an entire conversation with myself that went this way:

Rats, missed the triangle again. Ooo, omoplata! I could go for an omoplata. We’re both in the right spot. I should go for an omoplata. This is the perfect opportunity to go for an omoplata. Well, should I go for it? Oh, darn, he’s out.

Seriously, brain? We need to work on that.

Leave a Reply

