BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Friday, March 11, 2011

on March 11, 2011

This has felt like the longest week ever. Each day seemed to stretch on for a whole week itself. It seemed like Friday would never get here. So thankful it finally did.

Our project manager’s wife is going to have a baby any day now. Last month she cleaned the house top to bottom — twice, I think — and this month she’s cooking. Most of the food gets sent to work so that they won’t eat it all. Earlier this week was bags of cookies. Today was vegetable lasagna, chocolate-covered oreos, and pretzel logs dipped in chocolate and rolled in crushed M&Ms. Oh my… Every time I walked in the break room today, I walked out with something.

And then around 4pm, I filled a bowl with cookies and pretzels and all the little pieces that had fallen off and congregated in the bottom of the bags. Sugar… SUGAR. sugarsugarsugar! I felt like an incarnation of a Hyperbole And A Half cartoon, lol. I did balance it with a protein shake a little later so that I wouldn’t collapse too entirely at jiu-jitsu.

Open Mat tonight. Started rolling with Guillaume to warm up. 20-25 minutes. As we rolled, the other guys started some timed stand-up rounds on the other side of the cage. We finally stopped for a 5-minute rest (1-min rest, 3-min stand-up round, 1-min rest), but they were all still standing up, so we went for another 20-25 minutes. Took another break and then rolled with Jamie, who was up visiting today. Probably also 20-25 minutes.

So I’ve been told that I need to only write things that I did well. Found a triangle-to-armbar transition. Got Guillaume to grunt from knee-on-belly pressure. Found some underhooks from bottom half and escaped some out that side.

Justin and Will worked on their butterfly pass again, this time with someone filming it so they can analyze it later.

Our home internet is back up again. Thank goodness! A whole weekend without internet? *shudder*

