BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Customers!

on February 16, 2011

Heh, so of course the first thing I do every morning is check for comments. Doh. 😛 Old habits die hard.

For the grammarians among us: Language Terms for when things go wrong. ROTFL at the “Shatner comma.” The in-house voice talent that our client uses whenever they have an “emergency” prompt to add (for example, to let people know they’re closing 2 hours early on Presidents’ Day, oh no! [Which to me is either just stay open b/c it’s no longer a holiday for your folks or just close and let people deal with the regular holiday message.]) is quite fond of the Shatner comma.

Current pet peeve: people who take conference calls on speaker phone at their desk.


First day without a sinus headache. We may be making progress.

It turns out that my head is harder than Jimmy’s: my headbutted left eye did not, in fact, turn in to a shiner. Boo hiss.

Had another appointment with Dr. Tom tonight. He said that both of my shoulders are feeling much better. The left still aches some, especially after I’ve been rolling and then stop, but otherwise isn’t too bad. We scheduled one more appointment for next Monday; then, barring any more craziness from my joints, we should be able to go back to longer time between visits.

Kids’ Class

Two new kids showed up tonight. There is a new sports training complex in the space next to us for soccer, softball, baseball, basketball, and maybe more; these kids’ older sister was over there for softball, so while Dad stayed with her, Mom brought the other two over to us just to watch. Perry talked to her, though, and encouraged her to let them try class, which the kids were eager to do. A sister and her younger brother. The boy was so funny — he was fascinated by all the things in the space, like the ring, the barbells, the kettlebells, the medicine balls, the exercise balls, and even the heavy bags hanging on the other half of the space, over where the MMA class was. It was hard to keep him on the mat! Sara and Robert talked to the mom while the kids trained with us.

Ten kids tonight, including the two new ones. Behavior was mostly good, though they fidgeted a whole lot when I showed the technique and then couldn’t remember it on their own. I realized later that I also hadn’t broken it out in big steps like I have been doing and then having them repeat each one. Usually I’ll walk through it a few times saying, “Step 1, I move my hand here and my leg here. Step 2, …” Steps are limited to 3 or 4. And then I’ll go through once or twice more with the kids saying the steps for me. That works very well. Let them drill together, Theresa working with the new girl and Lexi with her brother since I knew those two would help them and wouldn’t goof off. The other kids were a different story. Ugga, I need more eyes and hands!

Technique of the night was the far-side kimura from side control, first securing the inside arm by getting it to the mat and sliding your shin across and then getting the grip on the far arm. The new boy ran off to play in the ring during drilling, and his mom ran over to get him out. He just wanted to hang upside down from the ropes.

Before we started positional rolling, I showed them quickly how to transition from side control to mount, bringing the knee higher on the chest first before taking it over, since I’d seen many of them get caught in half-guard (against partners who knew it) or, somehow, full guard last week. Then six 30s rounds of positional sparring from side control, top partner going for the kimura or mount and bottom partner going for the escape from last week.

The new kids’ dad came in right after class, and his wife told him that the kids had actually done a class and had liked in. Despite his inattention, the new boy said he’d had a lot of fun and wanted to come back next week. (He also moved very well and was lots of squirmy during rolling and was beaming after that.) The girl loved it, too, and Theresa and Lexi did an awesome job of making friends with her.

The parents introduced themselves to me, and the dad asked me what class this had been. He was trying to read the schedule, but it’s kind of confusing. When I said, “Brazilian jiu-jitsu,” he asked, “Is that striking?” I said no, it was grappling. He looked at his wife and said, “Good, that’s the one I wanted them to learn.” So, since the older daughter is next door in her softball clinic on Wednesdays, the two younger ones may been joining my class during that time. The mom also commented that she had liked watching the class and had liked what we had done and how it was run. (Whew! That’s good, because I’m pretty sure it looks like barely controlled chaos!)

Ack, more kids! But it’s a good problem to have. 😛

Women’s Class

Hey, we had women’s class! Well, me, Theresa, and Caroline, a girl from Perry’s classes who had come several weeks ago. She’s been out sick, she said, else she would have been here. Awesome.

We started with a shortened warmup — with me talking to the parents and kids after class, we got started a bit late; on the way home, I realized I could have the women start jogging at 7 while I take care of anything I need to because, amazingly, they’re not kids who are just going to goof off. But even that shortened warmup winded me: jogging, knees up, heels back, side-to-side, then on the wall for single legs, duck walks, and shrimping. Gah, this sickness still hasn’t quite left and I’m still weak and pathetic from it. Boo hiss. (Also, lots of Mexican food at lunch. Still sitting heavy. Ugh.)

Then we drilled the same thing as the kids’ class, far-side kimura. Caroline has done some Japanese jiu-jitsu, so she kind of knows some things. But she had questions and was having some problems, so I deviated and showed the threading-the-needle side control escape and some troubleshooting details on the kimura itself. And then when we went to do positional rolling, I showed side control to mount for her, which led to more drilling, so we ended up with only enough time to get 2 1-minute rounds in with her and Theresa. Two problems there for me — 1) I need to stick more to just the one technique and make them drill the crap out of it and 2) I need to make sure we get enough time for more rolling. On my to-do list…

