BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

on February 8, 2011

Hair appointment before class. I’m going to let it grow out a little bit and see if I can handle that with the grappling.

I was distracted all day because I’m getting closer to buying a house, and so never was able to get my head focused on jiu-jitsu. Completely forgot about my goals. I did watch Kintanon’s videos, but then immediately forgot everything. (Thanks for making those; very helpful.) I even forgot Rikki Tikki Tavi 😦

Big class again tonight. University classes are in full swing, and everyone’s able to get in to train right now.

Started rolling. With Blue Belt Buddy… and I’m drawing a blank. Oh, wait, he got my back, and I couldn’t dislodge him. That’s going on the eventual Goals list. Also, my cardio and muscle endurance are shot after all that sickness crap. Then a round with Sara, and I briefly remembered all the spider guard/knees between and stuff from Kintanon’s videos and worked on those until I could sweep, and then worked to pass.

Drilling was the elevator sweep from last night. Justin had us finishing in knee-on-belly, already poised to step the leg over and finish the armbar. Drilled with Blue Belt Buddy. Drilling took most of class.

Two rolls to finish. With Big John and then Big Mike. They were both good to have, because while they have the size and pressure of the manbeasts, they aren’t spazzy or likely to cause injury, so I could work against them without any fear of reprisal. I did once again forget everything I was supposed to be remembering (*le sigh*), and both got my back again (two more votes for the Goals page). Both were also trying to play from their backs a fair bit, since Tim has told both of them to. I tried to work feeling out where they were moving in butterfly, but John just immediately swept me and Mike didn’t actually try anything. Doh.

After class, someone told Sara that at least two of the new kickboxing girls were probably coming to the women’s class tomorrow, and she passed that on to me. Yay, new people! Wait, crap, this means I need to have a real live coherent class pulled together. Oi!

4 responses to “Tuesday, February 8, 2011

  1. Kintanon says:

    You mention “getting swept” a lot in your posts. Remember that it doesn’t really count as a sweep unless they end up on top. If you get your feet under you and get back to a neutral sitting position before they can get to you then they didn’t sweep you, the just flung you away from the momentarily. Going from on the bottom to a neutral position is not considered sweeping.

    • leslie says:

      Ah, yes, understood. I don’t usually think of “sweep” as the full tournament definition. Guess maybe I should, since that means a little bit of prevention negates the sweep. (Though John was definitely sweeping me — he frequently landed in mount.)

  2. @ Leslie – No worries, the brain fog from the illness will go away soon. Good luck with the house hunting. I’m also looking forward to hearing about the women’s class.
    @ Kintanon – I never thought of that, but it makes sense! Maybe I’m not getting dominated as much as I think.

  3. Kintanon says:

    @ combatsportsreview – Yeah, if you hit that link and look at the second video you’ll see where the blue belt gets a leg under and lifts and dumps me, but I recompose and push him away before he can establish any kind of control. I was not swept.

    The same in the first video when I switch to monkey mount and the guy pushes me straight up in the air, I float around a bit and end up in guard. Not a sweep.

    In the third video I switch to monkey mount and get rolled over so my opponent is now on top in my guard, not a sweep. No points are awarded for that.

Comments are closed.
