BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

What I’ve been reading, December 2010

on January 1, 2011
  • The Color of Magic, Terry Pratchett. I struggled so badly on this one. Maybe because I’d already read The Light Fantastic, which comes right before this one, so I mostly knew what would happen. There were some new things that hadn’t been reiterated in The Light Fantastic, but mostly, just had a really hard time getting through this.
  • Inkdeath, Cornelia Funke. The third in the trilogy. And I have to wonder, why are these in the Juvenile section? Subject matter and the complexity of the plot, especially in this 3rd book, seem way too advanced for the Juvenile section. Do recommend.
  • Elantris, Brandon Sanderson. Very interesting. Much like. Very interesting idea, and several twists at the end that have you wondering how in the world this comes out right. But it does, and appropriately. Also recommend.
    (Although, the first few chapters are atrocious, just so you know. He needs his 3 main characters in place, with a little backstory, so he bullrushes them through. But once through that, the pace and writing settle in nicely. Last chapter or two also not so great; felt like “okay, we’re at the end, so let’s get this over with.” Also a heavy, heavy dun-dun-dun, foreshadowing, “but wait there’s more!” ending, which was overdone and obvious already, so useless. Funny, I sound like maybe I didn’t like it, but I really actually did [mostly, lol].)
9 responses to “What I’ve been reading, December 2010

  1. Kintanon says:

    Sanderson has a habit of being a little shaky the first 50 or so pages of every novel he does. It’s improved with his later works from what I’ve seen, and while it makes another appearance briefly when he takes over the Wheel of Time series he breaks out of it nicely and does a damn fine job. I can recommend almost everything he’s written. The guy is solid.

  2. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: I did like him. And this was his debut novel, so I expected it not be perfect. Kind of annoying to know, though, that his editors haven’t gotten him over those kind of starts.

  3. Tree Frog says:

    Pratchett’s Discworld gets much, much, much better after these books.

    I would actually say skip all the way to The Thief of Time, to truly get what Pratchett is capable of when he’s mastered the characters and world, and then work your way back or forwards. There’s a few not as spectacular books, but post-Reaper Man, they’re all pretty good and fun to read.

    Night Watch is his best; Thud! would be my 1A to Night Watch’s 1 though.

  4. leslie says:

    @Tree Frog: Thanks, I’ll keep an eye out for those.

    Also, you’re the 2,000th comment! Wohoo!

  5. clinzy says:

    When I found out Sanderson was going to be finishing the Wheel of Time books, I started reading his stuff. I needed to get to know the man that was going to be taking on such an important task. If I had read Elantris first, I think I would have been thrown into a panic. I started with the Mistborn trilogy, which I totally enjoyed. Then, I read Elantris (knowing it was his first novel and expecting it to be a rougher effort). It was much as you said, but I still liked the story itself and was able to put the rough start behind me.

  6. leslie says:

    @Chrissy: I went in looking for Mistborn, but my library of course doesn’t have it, so settled for Elantris. And I did like it (eventually) and was glad I stuck with it; as you said, since it was his debut, I expected it to be a little rocky, but it did smooth out and was very enjoyable after that. I can definitely see that he has potential.

  7. clinzy says:

    I’d loan you the Mistborn series, but they’re on Brian’s Kindle. I don’t think he’d appreciate that. If you get snowed in here again, you’re welcome to check them out, though!

  8. leslie says:

    @Chrissy: Deal 😛

  9. Neil says:

    Mistborn is fantastic. Definitely read that. I greatly disliked the third one, but one of the things that makes me grumpy about it is that I’m forced to agree that it’s clever even though I don’t like it.

    I just recently read ‘The way of Kings’ from Sanderson as well. It’s a 1000+ page monster and apparently the start of a 12 book series or something ridiculous, but it’s good if you’ve got the time.

Comments are closed.
